Recipe: Fish Tacos

Husband loves tacos – I like to try to find a healthy way to accomplish that. I love tilapia, I know some people think it’s fake and all, but it’s pretty delish.

I don’t really have measurements, but these are my ingredients:

Image

Avocado is necessary. Sour cream and queso is optional. You can find this brand of salsa at Publix, and it is as delicious as it is pretty. Plus it saves time – no need to dice tomatoes. We always make a can of black beans – I use them in my taco, John uses them as a side. And we always go with whole wheat tortillas.

For the fish specifically:

Image

 I do switch it up depending on what I’m making it for but these are the heavy hitters. Chili powder, onion powder and garlic salt and occasionally minced onion. Oh and lemon!

Basically I sauté the fish in melted butter (or coconut oil depending) and then I shred it in the pan:

Image

 Four fillets = four small pads of butter. Basically that’s it. Slice the avocado. Cook the beans. Warn the queso and you’ve got a really nice spread.

Plus the taco’s always end up looking pretty:

Image

 Okay, so maybe not my best presentation – but delicious!

Sometimes, when I’m feeding more people, as a great side dish I love getting a bag of frozen corn – salt, pepper and a little bit of olive oil. Broil for a few minutes and you basically have grilled corn.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

